PCB has appointed Kamran Akmal as the head of the Junior Selection Committee

کامران اکمل

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced an 8-member selection committee for the selection of regional and district teams and has appointed former Test cricketer Kamran Akmal as its head.

According to the statement issued by the PCB, an 8-member selection committee has been announced which will conduct the trials of U-13, U-16 and U-19 for the selection of regional and district teams.

The statement said that former wicketkeeper of the national test team Kamran Akmal has been appointed as the chairman of the committee and other members include Sohail Tanveer, Amir Nazir, Taimur Khan, Junaid Khan, Faisal Athar, Qaiser Abbas and Sanaullah Baloch.

PCB has appointed Kamran Akmal as the head of the Junior Selection Committee

PCB has appointed Kamran Akmal as the head of the Junior Selection Committee

The PCB has said that each selector along with the head coach of the region or district teams will conduct trials as per the schedule, which will be announced later.

Kamran Akmal, head of the selection committee, played 268 international matches for Pakistan, committee member Sohail Tanveer represented Pakistan in 121 international matches.

Junior Selection Committee member Aamir Nazir opened 6 Tests and 9 ODIs for Pakistan from 1993 to 1995.

Fast bowler Junaid Khan played 107 international matches for Pakistan, Faisal Athar played only one ODI match in 2003 and Qaiser Abbas played one Test match against England in 2000.

Sanaullah Baloch and Taimur Khan, who are included in the junior selection committee, do not have international cricket experience, but they have been a part of Pakistan’s first-class cricket.

It should be noted that earlier PCB had appointed Haroon Rashid as the Chief Selector of the National Cricket Team.

While giving a press conference in Islamabad, PCB Management Committee Chairman Najam Sethi said that Haroon Rasheed has been appointed as the Chief Selector and I have worked with him for many years.

He said that he made this announcement because there were a lot of rumors and promotions of every candidate, although we had time but there was a lot of pressure.

He had said that only the Chief Selector has been appointed but now he will add other members after careful consultation.

More: For the second year in a row, Babar was named ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here